Blarg.

Okay, it’s been six days since I last contributed to this blog so I feel it’s about time that I did something to resuscitate the last vestiges of something that could be a genuine outlet, and I feel it’s time for a change of direction. This was meant to be a hate blog, but although I started with a head full of ideas about what to rant against next, my mind now seems to be incapable of piecing together any coherent arguments against the things I want to argue against.

So being that it’s time for a change, I feel the best thing to do is to open up the floor (the metaphorical floor) to suggestions as to where I can take this. A film blog? A game blog? Comic book reviews? Or something more current, some observational humour? Music? Suggestions are welcome, but for now I’m just going to go for a mishmash of all of them to fill some space.

I saw Thor: The Dark World the other day, and I’d give it a sold three and a half stars out of five, a good film, but by no means great. Thor’s introductory adventure was a bit stunted in its scope during the Earth bound sections, but this film remedies that by annihilating a small portion of London (a welcome change to New York or Washington where such events usually occur). Hemsworth has evolved fantastically in the role, from the fish out of water schtick/angry young man spiel in the first film, the alien with a bone to pick in the Avengers, to a still angry but somewhat restrained Thor in Dark World. As for the rest of the cast, Anthony Hopkins is gloriously commanding as Odin, Hiddleston steals the show as Loki once again, and the rest are largely forgettable, especially Portman who still seems out of place. Kat Dennings and Stellan Skarsgard bring the comic relief (with a welcome cameo from Chris O’Dowd), but the biggest misstep was taking an actor as great as Christopher Ecclestone, encasing him in prosthetics, and giving him monotonous speech that takes away any semblance of creepiness, something which the Malekith of the comics has in spades. So to sum up, a good film, not a great one, but the post credits scene is definitely worth hanging around for.

The only game I’ve played recently is GTA V, and everyone knows my feelings about it, it’s amazing and easily one of the best games of this generation.

Comics? Hawkeye, Deadpool, Saga and Trillium, read them all and thank me later.

So I hear Angela Merkel’s phone got tapped, erm, hahahaha, silly cow. But in all seriousness, the NSA and GCHQ really need to be taken down a peg or two, as well as their overlords who seem to be ignorant to the fact that they’re universally despised with mobs on the internet baying for blood. Where on earth are Anonymous when you need them?

What was the last one? Ah right, music. Maya Jane Coles has a rather excellent album out which is worth a listen, Black Sabbath’s comeback was definitely worth the wait, and outside of that all I’ve just been listening to is the soundtrack from This Is The End (worth it just for the Backstreet Boys).

Oh Jesus this really went downhill fast, if anyone is still reading then I apologise profusely for the torrent of written shite you just had to wade through, I’m currently ill and trying to process my Equity lecturer’s ridiculous accent so my mind is all over the place. I’m going to attempt to flog this dead horse (not in a naughty way, you pervert) and keep going, but at present The Angry Indian may be heading the way of Blockzilla and my ill fated attempt to write a serious sci fi story about people going insane while searching for a new home for humanity (email me for a preview), straight to the recycle bin.

XOXO, The (slightly less) Angry Indian.

Leave a Reply

